• Conference Bag Stuffing at AMEM Annual Conference

AMEM Board Adopts Outdoor Weather Siren Best Practices Recommendations

The AMEM Board of Directors at its’ quarterly Board meeting on February 9, 2015, adopted the AMEM Outdoor Weather Siren Best Practices Recommendations for consideration by local jurisdictions throughout the state. You can view these in our Resources section on our website navigation bar.

Save the Date!
55th Annual AMEM Conference

The 55th Annual AMEM Conference will be held this year September 20-23, 2015, at Breezy Point. This year’s theme is “Everyday People Doing Extraordinary Things”. Registration information and conference schedule will be sent out in the mid June time frame.

50th Annual Mn HSEM Governor’s Conference

The Minnesota Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) hosted its’ 50th annual Governor’s Homeland Security and Emergency Conference, February 10-12, at the Earle Brown Heritage Center in Brooklyn Center, MN. Over 450 emergency management professionals and partners from around the state gathered at this year’s conference to take part in training and attend a variety of excellent general and concurrent sessions.

Welcomes and updates were provided by Lieutenant Governor Tina Smith, Commissioner Mona Dohman, Mn Dept. of Public Safety, and MnHSEM Director Joe Kelly. Also providing updates were FEMA Region V Administrator Andrew Velasquez III; Mn Pollution Control Agency Commissioner John Linc Stine; Mn Dept. of Health Emergency Preparedness Director Jane Braun; AMEM President Eric Waage; and Dan Luna, Meteorologist in Charge, National Weather Service.
In addition to a wide variety of certification and other training classes, and concurrent sessions, the conference keynote general session provided a Railway and Pipeline Safety Panel Discussion of roles and responsibilities of the various agencies involved in railway and pipeline safety and response.

Annual HSEM Awards Program. At the HSEM annual Awards Breakfast on Thursday of the conference, HSEM recognized the following with Awards of Excellence:

Amy Lammey, Mower County Emergency Management, Outstanding County Emergency Management Coordinator, for outstanding contributions to her county’s emergency management program, and in particular helping to prepare for a foreign animal disease outbreak.

Kelly Schroeder, Land Services Director and Assesor, Pine County, Outstanding Commitment to Community Recovery, for tireless efforts in applying for, receiving. and executing a $4.7M hazard mitigation project to remove 27 structures from the flood hazard area.

Denise Peterson, Mn HSEM, the Mark Huge Memorial Award for commitment to the mission of HSEM and her fellow employees and partners.

Julie Anderson, Mn Dept. of Public Safety Office of Communications, the Paul Jacob Memorial Award for tremendous work in engaging external partners and stakeholders, to ensure HSEM always accomplishes its mission.

Mennonite Disaster Services, Outstanding Volunteer Organization, for efforts in responding to the flood disaster of 2014 in Rock County.

North Ambulance of Robbinsdale and North Memorial Medical Center, Outstanding Community Partner, for the creation of training videos to improve preparedness of healthcare professionals for a radiological emergency.

West Central Environmental Consultants (WCEC), a special recognition of the partnership with MnHSEM for 18 years of dedicated service as a Chemical Assessment Team for the protection of greater Minnesota.

HSEM Certification Recipients. HSEM Director Joe Kelly presented 41emergency management professionals with their certification for having completed the requisite number of courses leading to emergency management certification in the state of Minnesota. AMEM congratulates the following for having received their certifications:

Jason Bartell Minnesota State Patrol
Jody Beauchane Polk County Emergency Management
Erik Beitel Pennington County Sheriff’s Office
Craig Bell City of Elko New Market Police Department
Timothy Bergeland Chippewa County Emergency Management
Kristen Beste Stearns County
Steven Bittick Fourth Judicial District Court
Kimberly Cox Eden Prairie Fire Department
Dustin Dienst City of Faribault
Nellie Feist Maple Grove Fire Department
Terry Fischer Mahtomedi
Craig Fontaine Becker County Emergency Management
Gary Gile City of Kellogg
Leeland Kenneth Gilliam St. Paul Fire Department
David Lee Gurney Minnesota Department of Corrections
Alden Hoffman MN Department of Labor and Industry
Christina Husbands Aitkin Police Department
David Jensen Department of Human Services
Garry Johanson Norman County Emergency Management
Joshua Johnston Marshall County Emergency Management
Gary Larson City of East Grand Forks
Patrick Lee Arrowhead EMS Association
Jennifer Lindberg HSEM
Ronald F. MacCarthy Governor’s Office
Fred Mead Salvation Army
John Mueller Target
Peter Neumann Carlton County Emergency Management
Christian Nordeng HSEM
Jovan Palmieri St. Paul Fire Department
Ward Parker Eden Prairie Fire Department
Nicholas Radke HSEM
Doug Renier Department of Commerce
Mario Ruberto Metro Transit Police Department
Jeff Schroepfer Minnesota State Patrol – East Metro District
Lynn Siegel Traverse County Emergency Management
Scott Slawson New Hope Police Department
Sarah Stalker Hennepin County Emergency Management
Ross Vanderkooi City of Red Wing
Gina Wieler HSEM

Save the Date: The 51st annual Governor’s HSEM Conference is scheduled for February 9-11, 2016, location to be determined.



No events to display.